Skip to content ↓

Awards Celebrate Accelerated Learning Group's Success

On Friday 18th November The Priory Ruskin Academy held a special awards ceremony for their Year 8 accelerated learning group who, last summer when they were only in Year 7, successfully completed their AQA GCSE Foundation project at level 1, gaining them the equivalent of half a full GCSE.  

The Academy has offered the qualification, which runs in addition to the Year 7 History and English curriculum, over the last two years and during that time 100% of students have passed at a grade B or higher. Last year the results were particularly impressive, with 78% of the cohort achieving an A or A*grade.  Mrs Karen Shelford, who oversees the accelerated learning groups, said: “This is an outstanding achievement. For students in Year 7 to gain a Level 1 qualification at such a high standard is something the Academy and students are incredibly proud of.”
The students who successfully completed the qualification in 2016 are:  Robbie-Lee Atkin, Harry Blackburn, Benjamin Charles, Morgan-Lee Coldron, Lewis Collins, Calum Copus, Corey Cottingham, Riley Crompton, Leah Darby, Emily Hollis, Kalolina Leeton, Jamie Maelzer, Micky McCready, Tye Parsons, Callum Peberdy, Ellie Pigott, George Railton, Jose Reis, Giorgio Roughan, Lewis Sawyer, Sarah Sharples, Lucie Smith, Olivia Smith