Skip to content ↓

BTEC Health & Social Care

The new Level 3 Foundation Diploma in Health and Social Care consists of four mandatory units plus two optional units that provide for a combined total of 510 learning hours for the completed qualification.

Year 12 looks at the units of Human Lifespan Development (exam), Principles of Safe Practice in Health and Social Care, and Meeting Individual Care and Support Needs.

Year 13 looks at the units of  Working in Health and Social Care (exam) and Nutritional Health

You will complete assignments for each internally assessed unit and these could include; written essays, verbal or written reports, presentations, role plays, case studies, work placement and observations.

Students will partake in compulsory work placements in a Health and Social Care setting as part of the 'Work Experience in Health and Social Care' unit that is completed across the 2 years.


Why Study BTEC Health & Social Care
The study of Health and Social Care will help you to understand the range of settings in which social care takes place, and the different roles and types of work available within the healthcare system. On this course you will study the universal principles of care that are relevant to a wide range of rewarding careers, including social workers, nurses, health visitors, carers and paramedics. The course will also enable you to develop a detailed understanding of the communication skills and safeguarding procedures necessary to work safely and professionally within the social care system.

Strong Subject Combinations

Possible Further Study and Degree Courses
Health & Social Care
Public Services
Social Work